The truth be told…

… I’m terrible at blogging, well regularly anyway, I’ll leave you to determine the quality of what I write.

So, the countdown to the Plymouth Half Marathon has begun – T minus 32 days, 14 hours and 52 minutes (at time of writing). Training is going well. I’m surprised to be updating you saying I can now run further than 5km without hyperventilating, but it just goes to show that hard work pays off. Hopefully this challenge will end better than the London2Brighton walk did – safe to say I learnt my lesson on training from experience.

It’s a mental game

Last week I switched to measuring in miles. I can’t believe how much the metric you choose to measure your running in, actually impacts training. Suddenly my goal posts have been extended. Waiting for MapMyRun’s American lady to tell me my distance and time through my headphones at each mile, is more of a mental struggle compared to the kilometre updates she gives. I find myself plodding along feeling a bit like an impatient kid in the car asking, “are we there yet?”

However, after three good runs measuring in miles, I’ve come round. As the half marathon will be measured in miles on the day, it’s much easier to get a gist of the distance I need to go measuring in miles. For example, I now know I’ve only got to drag myself through another five miles on top of my longest run so far.

4bdf145e-54bb-4d62-a9cb-59e47df03b31
Last week’s training using MapMyRun
And as you can see, I’m not fibbing, training is not going too badly. I’ve set myself a training plan of two short six mile and four mile runs a week, with a longer runner at the weekend.

However, I should be out and about tonight, but frustratingly, I’m not.

Training vs. Health

As many will know, I’m running this marathon to raise money for Endometriosis UK, and therefore awareness of this stupid condition (excuse my frustration).

Unlike my blog’s title, tonight I am well and truly donning my pyjamas. Endo has a habit of popping up out of nowhere and wiping you out in a split second, which is exactly what’s happened this afternoon.

Being honest, I’ve eaten really unhealthily this past week after meeting up with friends and enjoying the odd burger and pizza. But, as I’m slowly learning, diet is so important in managing Endometriosis. 

Often misdiagnosed as Irritable Bowel Syndrome, a bout of eating badly can really set you back. And, guess what? The burger and pizza has well and truly caught up with me tonight. So I’m taking my slap on the wrist, putting chicken and veg in the oven and curling up with my trusty hot water bottle.

But all is not wasted, at least I blogged right? And my run is rescheduled for bright and early in the morning. As Dory would say, just keep swimming! (What do we do, we swwwiiiimmmmm!)

Over and out for now,

Laura xx

P.S. I’ve set up a Virgin Money Giving page to help raise funds for Endometriosis UK and the National Ankylosing Spondylitis Society. Any pennies you can give to help these two fantastic causes and the people who live with both of these conditions, would go so so far! Thanks in advance for any amount you can give. Donate here. 🙂

2 thoughts on “The truth be told…

Leave a Reply

